

Minutes – September 2, 2008 ACCF Membership Meeting

1. Meeting called to order at 7:00 pm by Stan Karson, Acting President. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Frank Emerson of the Arlington County Taxpayers Association. A minute of silence observed for 9/11.

2. Agenda approved as submitted.

3. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>. The minutes of the June 3, 2008 membership meeting were distributed and approved as submitted.

4. <u>Treasurer's Report</u>: Member associations are urged to pay their dues.

5. President Frances Finta was remembered for her long years of service to the association before her untimely death in June 2008. The Civic Federation website has more detailed information.

6. The assembled membership confirmed the Executive's Committee's recommended succession to the office of President, designating Larry Mayer as president for the remainder of 2008-2009. More detail is in the September 2008 *Civic Voice* on the Federation website.

7. Linda Lindberg, Arlington County General Registrar, updated information on election procedures for the 2008 general election.

8. Candidates Night rules were read as distributed in advance on the Civic Federation website. Candidate Panels for each ballot race proceeded as announced:

9. U.S. Congress, 8<sup>th</sup> District: James P. "Jim" Moran (D), Mark W. Ellmore (R) and J. Ron Fisher (IG)

10. Arlington County Board: Barbara A. Favola (D) and John G. Reeder (G)

11. Arlington County School Board: Libby T. Garvey and Emma N. Violand-Sanchez

12. The meeting adjourned at 9:30 PM.

Submitted:

Sharon J. Rogers Secretary