

Minutes - June 1, 2010 ACCF Membership Meeting

The meeting called to order at 7:30 pm by Mike Kerley, President. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Randy Swart from the Barcroft School and Civic League. Opening the meeting, the agenda was approved as submitted; minutes for the May 4, 2010 membership meeting were distributed and approved; the treasurer's report was approved.

The Nominating Committee, elected at the April 6 meeting, introduced the following slate of officers for 2010-2011: Mike Kerley, President; Terri Prell, Vice-President; Peter Olivere, Secretary; Eileen Williams, Treasurer. The proposed Executive Committee slate was Mark Antell, Gary Barbee, Burt Bostwick, Larry Finch, Amy Levin. The complete slate was unanimously approved.

Jay Fisette, Chair of the Arlington County Board, introduced the new County Manager, Michael Brown. Mr. Brown made brief remarks addressing themes requested by the Executive Committee.

The County's proposed Capital Improvement Program (CIP) was addressed by a panel: Michelle Cowan, Arlington County Assistant Chief Financial Officer; Mary Beth Chambers, APS Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Management Services; Bill O'Connor, APS Director, Design and Construction Services. Both County and School presentations appear on the civic federation website at prescipac1006.pdf (County) and prescipaps1006.pdf (Schools).

In unfinished business, a motion from the Bylaws Committee proposed to amend Article VII Section 3 of its Bylaws to read: *Committee recommendations to the Civic Federation are valid after an announced meeting is held by the committee and a vote on the recommendation is recorded. Committee reports shall be in writing. A copy of the report shall be given to the president and to the secretary.* After discussion, a subsidiary motion (Peter Owen; Robert Atkins) to refer back to committee passed 37 yes and 4 no.

In new business, Joe Pelton (seconded by Sharon Jolly) introduced a resolution on the County's use of LED street lighting. The resolution was subsequently transmitted to the Public Services Committee.

		the next mem		'. 2010.

Submitted:

Sharon J. Rogers

Secretary