Home

NEXT MEETING

Gold_Hospital_Parking_diagram

Civic Federation meetings are held on the first Tuesday of the month (September – June; except for November). Meetings begin at 7:30 pm at the Hazel Auditorium, Virginia Hospital Center. On nights of the Civic Federation meeting, the gates of the GOLD Parking lot, which is located under the 1635 Medical Offices, will be open and there is no charge for parking. If you use another lot, you will have to pay the regular rate to exit.

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, September 8, 2015 at 7:30 pm

  • Candidates’ Night

FUTURE MEETINGS and EVENTS

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, September 13, 2015

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, October 6, 2015 at 7:30 pm

  • Continuation of Candidates’ Night and Open Data Forum
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, October 11, 2015

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 7:30 pm

  • TBD
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, November 15, 2015

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, December 1, 2015 at 7:30 pm

  • TBD
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, December 6, 2015

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, January 5, 2016 at 7:30 pm

  • TBD
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, January 10, 2016

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, February 2, 2016 at 7:30 pm

  • TBD
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, February 7, 2016

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 at 7:30 pm

  • TBD
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, March 6, 2016

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, April 5, 2016 at 7:30 pm

  • TBD
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, April 10, 2016

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, May 3, 2016 at 7:30 pm

  • TBD
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, May 15, 2016

GENERAL MEETING:
Tuesday, June 7, 2016 at 7:30 pm

  • Election of Officers for FY2017
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Sunday, June 12, 2016

PAST MEETINGS and EVENTS

Tuesday, June 2, 2015 at 7:30 pm

The June Newsletter is available here [PDF, 102 KiB].

  • 7.30p Call to Order
  • 7.40p Election of New Officers (see Nominating Committee slate in newsletter)
  • 7.45p Priorities Updates
  • 7.50p Revenues and Expenditures Committee Presentation on Economic Development
  • 8.05p Schools Committee: Presentation, Resolution and Vote (see below)
  • 8.30p Affordable Housing (see below)
    • Housing Committee Presentation
    • Minority Report, Parks and Recreation
    • Minority Report, Revenue and Expenditures
    • Minority Report, Planning and Zoning
    • Housing Committee Resolution (brought to floor for action)
    • Amendments to Resolution Offered
  • 9.45p Adjourn
Documents and Links
Schools Committee
Housing Committee
  • Housing Committee Resolution on Affordable Housing (revised 26 May 2015) [PDF, 290 Kib].
  • The Housing Committee Report in Support of Their Resolution [PDF, 139 Kib]. This report includes links to the Master Housing Plan and the Framework.
  • Letter Submitted by the Chair, Affordable Housing Working Group [PDF, 209 Kib].
Other Committee Reports and Amendments Regarding Affordable Housing
  • Parks Committee Minority Report on Affordable Housing [PDF, 323 Kib].
  • Parks Committee Amendment to Affordable Housing Resolution [PDF, 139 Kib].
  • Revenue and Expenditures Committee Minority Report on Affordable Housing [PDF, 151 Kib].
    • (Note – There is a significant difference between the projections of future affordable housing per unit costs between the Housing and the Revenue and Expenses Committees [R&E report page 2 paragraph 4 under ‘Construction/Capital Costs].)
  • Planning and Zoning Committee Minority Report on Affordable Housing (Not complete; will be available and posted prior to the meeting.)

Tuesday, May 5, 2015

  • The Affordable Housing Master Plan Resolution was tabled to June.
  • Schools Resolution [PDF, 86 Kib]

The Planning and Zoning Committee presented a brief update on the following:

  • County Code Chapter 15, Noise Control
  • Zoning: FAA Proposed OEI Guideline
  • Zoning Ordinance Revision
  • Stormwater Management
  • Conversations with staff about the revised Retail Plan.
  • A copy of the Committee’s presentation is available here [PDF, 481 Kib].

 

 

 

Information on prior meetings may be found in the Meeting Archive.